Jenine (Browne) MacFadden announced as honorary chair for 2020 Subway AUS Basketball Championships

Jenine (left) poses with Sea-Hawks teammates after capturing the 2003 AUS women's basketball title
Jenine (left) poses with Sea-Hawks teammates after capturing the 2003 AUS women's basketball title


(HALIFAX, N.S.) Atlantic University Sport is pleased to announce celebrated Memorial Sea-Hawks alumna Jenine (Browne) MacFadden as the Honorary Chair of this year's Subway AUS Basketball Championships.

Browne's career with the Sea-Hawks spanned from the 2000-01 season to the 2004-05 season. She was named AUS rookie of the year in 2001, AUS defensive player of the year in 2003, and she earned an unmatched four consecutive AUS MVP awards from 2002 to 2005.

The reigning AUS scoring champion during those four seasons, she was also named a CIS (now U SPORTS) first team all-Canadian four consecutive times.

Browne is the only player in AUS basketball history—both men's and women's—to earn conference MVP nods and first-team all-Canadian honours in four straight seasons.

Fifteen years later, she still features prominently in the AUS record books. She sits third all-time in career scoring with 2,028 points, second in career free throws made with 526 and second in single-season free throws made with 141 (2002-03).

Her Memorial school record of 38 points in a single game was broken just this season when current Sea-Hawks standout Haille Nickerson scored 42 points in a game against Cape Breton on Nov. 10.

During Browne's tenure, the Sea-Hawks captured three AUS conference titles—in 2002, 2003 and 2005.

She now works as a registered nurse in the Orthopedic Surgery Unit of the Health Sciences Centre in St. John's, N.L. She continues to support the Sea-Hawks as an avid fan and plays basketball herself in a Division 1 league.

She and her family—husband Les, 5-year-old son Liam and four-month-old daughter Charlee—will travel from their home in Kelligrews, N.L. to attend this year's AUS championships.

As event honorary chair, Browne will sit courtside, taking place in ceremonial tipoffs, awards presentations and more.

"We're thrilled that Jenine and her family are able to make the trip to be with us at this year's championships," said AUS executive director and organizing committee chair Phil Currie.

"In a year where we've modified the event schedule in an effort to raise the profile of our top-tier women's basketball product, I think it's fitting we have one of the most decorated women's basketball players in our conference's history joining us to represent the event as Honorary Chair.

Jenine's accolades speak for themselves. She accomplished things that no other player has—in men's or women's basketball. We're very happy to have her with us."

The 2020 Subway AUS Basketball Championships, presented by PepsiCo Canada and Keep It Social, get under way Friday, Feb. 28 at 1 p.m. with the first women's quarterfinal game, followed by the first men's quarterfinal game at 3 p.m.

Game times, seeding and schedule can all be found at

Tickets to individual sessions are now on sale through Ticket Atlantic.

View: Mobile | Desktop